Skip to main content
Topic: QTRAP parameters for lipidomics (Read 4849 times) previous topic - next topic

QTRAP parameters for lipidomics

Hello,
I am planning to run human samples for lipidomics analysis. I am new to qtrap and using sciex qtrap 5500. Can anyone please help me telling the parameter settings used for your analysis? I thought this will help me to optimize parameters for my project.

Thank you  :) .

Re: QTRAP parameters for lipidomics

Reply #1
I assume you mean chromatography etc? I suggest finding some of Fiehn's papers in lipidomics and using their system as a starting point.

Other than that it seems you have a nominal mass instrument? It will be very hard doing something sensible with that in lipidomics...
Blog: stanstrup.github.io

Reply #2
Hey Jan,
I was looking for mass spectrometry parameters, not LC. I am doing direct injection. Also if I want to perform untargeted analysis (LC-MS) using qtrap 5500 will that be a good choice. What will be the drawbacks? I know it is not a good choice but one of my friends want to run untargeted analysis using the mass spectrometer (qtrap 5500). I told him that it is not a high res instrument so won't be right thing to do.

Thank you for your suggestions.

Best,
Titan

Reply #3
Hi Titan,