Skip to main content
Topic: Long runtime while grouping! (Read 7028 times) previous topic - next topic

Long runtime while grouping!

Hello everyone,

We are currently establishing a new LC-MS system in our group at the IPK Gatersleben
(LECO Citius LC-HRT + Agilent 1290 Infinity + Gerstel MPS).

I am still a newbie in using R and the packages xcms and CAMERA.
So, playing around with the first test data sets generated, I face some problems:

R takes a very long times for generating the xcmsSet-object and even longer for the first grouping (multiple hours / days).
Moreover there are problems with the correct peak finding / alignment across the samples. I was adjusting many parameters, but still have no idea what’s the problem.

The raw data were preprocessed by using LECO “chromaTOF-HRT” software (only mass calibration) and exported as netCDF-files. One file has the size of around 1 GB.

Specified below you find the characterization of the system R is operation on:

Win7 Ultimate (Service Pack1) 64 bit version
   Intel core i7-3770 processor CPU 3.40 GHz
   16 GB RAM
   Windows, R and Tinn-R are installed / operation on a kingston SV300S37A 240G SATA SSD

and the first lines of my script:

setwd("C:/LCMS_Processed_Data/data_processing/20130320_Test")
  list.files("C:/LCMS_Processed_Data/data_processing/20130320_Test/netCDF_data", recursive = TRUE,  full.names = TRUE)

library(CAMERA)

xcmsSet(method=centWave, ppm=2, peakwidth=c(6,15), snthr=3)   

An "xcmsSet" object with 5 samples
        Time range: 1-659 seconds (0-11 minutes)
        Mass range: 49.9804-2408.8713 m/z
        Peaks: 1446480 (about 289296 per sample)
        Peak Groups: 0
        Sample classes: netCDF_data
        Profile settings: method = bin
        step = 0.1
        Memory usage: 122 MB

#up to this point it needs some hours

group(xs, method=nearest, mzCheck=0.008, rtCheck=10, kNN=1)

# This grouping needs days