Skip to main content
Topic: EIC errors (Read 4548 times) previous topic - next topic

EIC errors

Hello,

[Caveat: I'm a relative novice at manipulating ms data in r/with xcms - apologies if this is a little daft]

I'm using xcms to extract EICs from some LC-MS data (when I say some, I mean a lot - from a list of possible combinations in a combinatorial synthesis). When I compare EICs that are produced by xcms with those I produce using the software from the MS we are using (Bruker), I notice that the ones form xcms seem to incorporate a much wider band (+/- around the mass in question) - manifested in seeing a lot more peaks in the EICs, This is worrying, and I am not sure where I am introducing the error. Here is the workflow:

- Produce LC-MS data using Bruker Compass/Hystar.
 - Convert to mzXML using MsConvert GUI (Not changing settings: ie. 64 bit, Write index, using zlib compression, TPP compatability).
 - Open in r with xcms: "xr <- xcmsRaw(lcfile, profstep=0.005, profmethod="bin")"
 - Get EIC for each as follows:
      err <- 0.001
      MzRange[1,1] <- td[i,2] - err
      MzRange[1,2] <- td[i,2] + err
      eic <- getEIC(xr, mzrange=MzRange, rtrange=RTRange)
      a <- attr(eic, "eic")$xcmsRaw[[1]]
 - Put the x,y data for the EIC into a plot.

Any ideas why the EIC I get that way would be so different that the one produced in Bruker software with mass +/- 0.001? Does that prodstep need to be much smaller? I imagined that half the err value would be sufficiently low, but I've tried down to 0.002 without any joy (that made my computer groan, but didn't improve the situation)?

Thanks for your help,

Andy